Solstice

In the harsh face of summer,
I see only two colors

Oh, beautiful star
spare us from this nightmare

I cannot see the way home,
the other side of the bridge
has become Helios’ hometown

For a moment,
cease a while

That I may not see the light,
the thought is enlightening
but as I perspire thoroughly,
though dead, I cross cultures

On occasions of great distress
I inscribe the horror that is you

political suicides,
world wars,
domestic rebellions,
civil wars,
genocide,
ethnic cleansing,

What have we done?

In the harsh face of summer,
I see only two colors

In the harsh face of summer,
I ask only for forgiveness.

Leave a Reply

